not even started....

• 13 Replies

jennyhen

not even started....
« on: March 06, 2010, 17:29 »
Hello everyone! I'm completely new to keeping chickens- as in I haven't even got them yet! But its turning into an obsession, I wake up thinking of chickens!  :blink:
Anyhow, I'm thinking of getting 3 Rhode island reds and giving over the back garden to them. I have a coop on order too. But what I need to know is.... Will the chooks eat my entire lawn? It's about 15 X 20 ft grass. Oh, and any advice for starting out is most welcome!  :)  xx

DavidT

Re: not even started....
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2010, 19:23 »
Good evening Jenny and welcome to the site. I`m sure you`ll get all the advice you need from the chicken keepers on here :D Wether you want it or not. :lol: :lol: :lol:

birds in a basket

« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2010, 20:09 »
 :)Hello Jennyhen - we are just starting too!  Welcome to the "chicken club".  Glad to hear someone else is living and breathing chickens at the moment too!  I go to bed thinking, plotting and planning, dream about them and they are my first thought in the morning (oh dear - maybe I shouldn't have admitted that online)  Sure you will get loads of advice from the experts here as I have.  Our coop is half built and the digging is about to start for installing the run.  We are looking for bog standard chucks at the moment till we get used to what we are doing.  Hope to hear more from you.  :D
Growing old is inevitable, growing up is optional!

dizzylizzie

« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2010, 20:20 »
:) We are looking for bog standard chucks

:ohmy: :mad: Wash your mouth out woman!!! there is no such thing as a bog standard chuck they are all beautiful  :D :D

ehs284

« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2010, 20:54 »
Welcome JH to the madness that is chook keeping. A lawn your size should be trashed completely by the end of the first day. By the end of the second day the holes they've dug will be deep enough to trap elephants :ohmy: