Set up advice please :-)

• 9 Replies

Bluebell

« on: May 28, 2007, 07:38 »
Hello....newbie here!  :D

I'd really love some chickens for eggs but I don't have a huge garden. OH isn't keen on keeping them on the grass as we haven't got much lawn as it is. We are planning on converting our shed, and adding a covered outside run, with access to the garden for part of the day when the weather is dry and I'm home.

Would this set up work? Would parasites build up in the run as I've read the run should be moved around regularly :?

We were also thinking maybe 2 or 3 bantams would be better for us. Are they good layers? Are the eggs tiny? Would they be able to 'hold their own' with my cats and dog around?

Thanks for any advice given  :)

Bagpuss

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2007, 09:18 »
Hi Bludbell and Welcome.  :D

You don't need to move a run around,  as long as you ensure it is kept clean, etc.  On the other queries, someone with lots of experience will help you on that shortly.  I'm sure you will enjoy having chickens.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Re: Set up advice please :-)
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2007, 09:32 »
Many people use a converted shed for their hens and as long as the outside run is big enough for the number of hens you want it will be fine.  It is a good idea to make a cover over the run to keep it dry - mud is not good for chickens feet.  If you have foxes around you must make sure the run and shed are fox proofed.  

You could get loads of bantams in a shed.  They are not as good a layer as a medium sized hen and tend to go broody very easily., but their little eggs are just as nice as any.

Hens can usually look after themselves with regard to cats, but I'm not sure about bantams, and I think a dog with a bantam would be very risky.  Dogs should never be trusted with hens and should always be chaperoned with them.