Is my chook moulting?

• 10 Replies

Julia TE

Is my chook moulting?
« on: February 14, 2010, 16:03 »
I am quite new to this chicken keeping lark and I love it.  So far I've had a trouble free time with them.  I have 5 girls (since October 2008) and they've been in good health.  Today, though, I noticed that one of them had a patch on her breast that was devoid of feathers and the skin looked pink.  Is this moulting, or does she have a problem?  I've noticed a bit of bickering going on, though didn't think it was any different from the usual.  None of them has moulted before.  I feed them LP (with a bit of mixed corn at this time of the year) and some chicken spice in their feed and at the moment a bit of vitamin supplement in their water as I've had a few delicate shells.  I'm only getting on average 4 eggs a day but don't know who's not laying. 

Since I noticed the bare patch today we have separated her from the rest of the group and can try and put her in a separate place overnight.  is this the best thing to do?  Other than that she seems ok.  She ruffles her feathers a bit more than usual.  her comb I think looks ok and she continues to be as noisy as usual (she's the noisy one of the tribe).  is there anything else I should be looking for?  We caught her to look more closely and she didn't like it - does this mean that she was sore when I touched her bare batch?  The bare batch is not huge but noticeable - about 1 square inch.

Any advice would be gratefully received!  Many thanks in advance
Julia

carolbriar

Re: Is my chook moulting?
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2010, 16:32 »