KathyM new plot

• 7 Replies

KathyM

KathyM new plot
« on: August 08, 2009, 15:37 »
Hi  :)

I know I'm a newb and don't know anyone here yet, but wanted to create a record of how we're doing on our new allotment.  We got it two days ago, rent free 'til April because it's been left to run wild for years. 

This is how it was the day before yesterday:

As you can see from this picture, it literally needs no work at all.  ::) :lol:

Is gazillion year old rhubarb salvagable?  There's tonnes of it.

Anyway all of us have been up there for a couple of hours yesterday and a bit longer today and it looks substantially different already, but I'll take more pics later when we head back up. 

Nice to meet you all

Kathy

Rangerkris

• My pic's
KathyM new plot
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2009, 15:44 »
Welcome to the forums we all like to see pictures, looks like you have plenty of willow herb growing there hahahha good luck with it all.
Thanks
Kris

KathyM

KathyM new plot
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2009, 15:59 »
Hi Kris

Yes, most people who have seen these photos reacted with a string of four letter words, so you held back well there haha!  It looks a lot different now, although where to go next is the big question, but that's for another thread!  I will be back with more photos later. :)

janet12000

KathyM new plot
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2009, 16:21 »
 :D Are those your children stood behind all the overgrown stuff?
I have a similar photo of my son and the dog standing on the lotty when I first acquired it. I too have been given mine rent free as it was a complete wilderness, and I'm doing the same as you by keeping a picture diary. It does help as you look at the original pics and see whet you have done and it keeps you motivated. It can be a bit disheartening when you see the old boys with rows and rows of neat and tidy veg, and all you have is a patch of radishes and a pile of stuff for the tip!