help im new to this and have lost my garlic!

• 11 Replies

peggyspatch

help im new to this and have lost my garlic!
« on: February 06, 2010, 13:55 »
 :( hi I am new to the whole allotment thing! got my half plot near chester last october, I prepared raised beds etc did all the digging and feeding of the beds and planted out my garlic bulbs bought from reputable supplier in november.... but still no sign, Iam new at this and learning so forgive me if I should know these things, but shouldnt something be coming up by now or is it too early? am worried that with such a wet season may have rotted? any advice would be lovely I feel under pressure as have two elderley and very experienced plotters either side of me !!!

many thanks in anticipation

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: help im new to this and have lost my garlic!
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2010, 14:06 »
Oh dear, welcome to the forums, sorry your first post is about a problem.

Certainly seems as though they've disappeared one way or other. My October planted ones were through in a few weeks and are now about 8" high.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2010, 14:48 »
If I were you I'd lift one and have a look....see what's going on

Babstreefern

« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2010, 14:50 »
I planted my garlic in December and like yourself, cannot see anything.  But I wouldn't worry, because basically, if you have quite a few garlic planted, not all of them will rot or whatever, you should have a few come up  We've had extremely severe weather with very deep snow, and this may well have slowed them down.  Not much light will have got to them.  Just keep watching out for them. :D
Babs

savbo

« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2010, 15:31 »