How long to rot horse manure?

• 6 Replies

daddyAndy

« on: February 05, 2010, 12:30 »
Hi, I'm fairly new to allotmenteering, but have been growing fruit and veg in my small garden for a few years.

Now that I have something a bit bigger I'm taking the condition of the soil a little more seriously. I have tested the soil on the plot and it appears to be sadly lacking in most nutients.

My questions are: what are the best ways for improving soil and if I want to add horse manure, how long should it rot down for. Most information I've found doesn't go any further than saying 'horse manure should be well rotted'. If I acquire 'raw' manure today, how quickly can it be used?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Andy

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: How long to rot horse manure?
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2010, 12:32 »
I leave mine at least a year, covered to keep the moisture in.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

muckyboots

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2010, 13:02 »
I agree with DD, just make sure they were bedded on straw as the chemicals in wood chippings can cause more damage than good,so I was informed by a farmer mate.Ihave used horse muck from the brewery shires where I used to work,(I did work honest) and got loads of nettles so rot it well. :D

corynsboy

• Experienced Member
    • http://growingyourownveg.blogspot.com/
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2010, 13:08 »
I've had "fresh" manure on parts of my plot since October and it will have all been taken into the soil by the worms by the time spring comes along.  I'm fortunate that the worms do this work for me and I'll just be getting in the way if I interfere with their work by digging.