Newbie on growing chillies!!

• 8 Replies

fletcherbaker

• Experienced Member
Newbie on growing chillies!!
« on: January 11, 2010, 18:32 »
Has anyone got any advice on growing chillies ie types,wot time to sow etc would be very helpfull as its my first time growing anything !!!

hillbilly

• Experienced Member
  • Working at Freedom
Re: Newbie on growing chillies!!
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2010, 18:36 »
Yes please, me too  :)

Jay The Digger

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2010, 18:52 »
I had great success with mine last year.

I started them off mid March, with one seed per module.  They were covered and put on my warm windowsill above the radiator.  Once they had sprouted I removed the cover and watered sparingly.  At the two leaf stage they were moved to a bigger pot with 3 long stakes inserted (they do look ridiculous at this stage but it saves damaging the roots later.)  Once they were about 25 cm tall they were finally transplanted to a large cermaic pot and put on the kitchen windowsill.  I regularly tied them to support the branches as the are quite brittle.

Once the flowers were fully open I would tickle them each day with a feather to help with pollination.  A few days later a small pin size fruit could be seen.

At this stage I would feed them a soluble feed (I used growmore Chilli and Pepper food) every couple of weeks.  It is important not to overwater as they don't like "having their feet wet".  I had a great crop and am still using my dried ones now.

I am going to try a couple in the polytunnel this year and see if they get bigger.

I kept the two strongest plants and they are in the garage hibernating ready for next year.

Hope this helps

Jilly Pickles

« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2010, 18:58 »
We set them in the polytunel February/March & April, plant outside when they a strong enough and the weather is warmer.

They like sunny postion and are easy to grow, never had any problems.