Newbie's First Job?

• 23 Replies

Only1Dionne

Newbie's First Job?
« on: December 14, 2009, 20:29 »
Hi, I'm a total, total newbie to all this!

I've just got my first allotment, and I'm so chuffed to bits!

The thing is, it's a new allotment, not an inherited one, so at the moment it's a patch of grass.

Obviously my first job is to plan out how I want it, then get it rotavated but I was just wondering what next; digging over with manure?

Is this a good time of year to do that?

Any advice I can get would be great, I'm sure I'll be back for more soon!!

Only1Dionne

Hello from Woodley, near Reading!
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2009, 20:38 »
Hi!

Just got my first ever allotment yippee!

It's not an inherited one, it's just a plot of grass right now so I have to get it rotorvated before I do anything. Also have to build compost heap(s) etc.

Think it was a good time of year too, I've got time to plan it out and make sure I do everything right.

Planning to have slightly raised beds, maybe divide my lotty into four, have fruit in one section and rotate the other three.

So much to do!!!!

Any ideas?

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: Newbie's First Job?
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2009, 21:30 »
Congrats on your new plot.

If its grass and not perennial weeds, rotovate and then dig in your organic matter. If you have dandelions ect you may just be making more of them by rotovating so you may have to hand dig bit by bit and get all the roots out.

Cover any soil you are not planting straight away with black plastic and that will keep the annual weeds down until you are ready to plant.

Have fun - there's loads of info on this forum and people ready to help with anything you want to ask  :D

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Hello from Woodley, near Reading!
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2009, 21:42 »
Welcome to the site Dionne  :D

Congrats on your new plot, it's definitely a good time of year to get one!