What to do with my new veg patch

• 6 Replies

AledE

What to do with my new veg patch
« on: October 26, 2009, 13:12 »
Hi all,

I moved into a new house about 3 weeks ago. I have adopted a vegetable patch and a greenhouse. There isn't much left in the veg patch except some Brussels sprout, and the greenhouse has 3 tomato plants and a vine.

I'm a complete novice, so I'm asking for advice as what to do over the next month. I know I need to keep watering the tomato plants and vine, but not too sure what to do with the veg patch.

Do I dig in some manure/compost now, or wait until spring, just before sowing?

Thanks for any help!

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: What to do with my new veg patch
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2009, 14:32 »
How lucky are you - getting a veg garden and greenhouse complete with a vine 8)
Think you need to think about picking the toms and bringing them in, for the green ones to ripen indoors, by the end of this warm spell anyway.
First thing I would do is give the plot a digging. This way you will get a feel for what sort of soil you have got and expose any pests in the soil for the birds :) If you have inherited any garden compost I would dig that in as well.
I'm a bit wary of buying in manure at the moment because of Aminopyralid problems (use the search button if you don't know about this) and would prefer to use chicken manure pellets, or fish blood and bone, and I add these in the spring a few weeks before sowing.
Lots of other ideas to come...........

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2009, 15:08 »
First thing I would do is give the plot a digging. This way you will get a feel for what sort of soil you have got