using soil from tom plants again?

• 14 Replies

flowerpot girl

using soil from tom plants again?
« on: October 13, 2009, 11:52 »
Hi All, hope your all well ,Just want to ask if its ok to use the soil from your tom plants again to grow next years plants? i am just not sure if i should just mix it into the garden or that i can grow toms or potatoes with it . the soil was from grow bags so dont know if the toms have took out all the goodness from the soil( bet you all think i am completely thick.......... and you would be right  :lol: ) i really am a complete novice at this growing malarky .
flowerpot girl

noshed

Re: using soil from tom plants again?
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2009, 12:17 »
Your best bet will be to get some new grow bags for next year. Your results will be much better.
You can re-use the old grow bag contents though - mix in some rotted compost and a bit of blood, fish and bone and you could use it for potting. Add some sharp sand and it can be seed compost. Or just chuck it round the plot and it will get incorporated into the soil.
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

8doubles

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2009, 12:32 »
Mix some sand with the used compost and use it for growing carrots. They do not need a  very rich soil. Apart from that i always use good fresh compost for planting seed into.

loupilou

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2009, 16:26 »
Hi All, hope your all well ,Just want to ask if its ok to use the soil from your tom plants again to grow next years plants? i am just not sure if i should just mix it into the garden or that i can grow toms or potatoes with it . the soil was from grow bags so dont know if the toms have took out all the goodness from the soil( bet you all think i am completely thick.......... and you would be right  :lol: ) i really am a complete novice at this growing malarky .