sick chook

• 7 Replies

judrop

• the chooks !
sick chook
« on: October 07, 2009, 00:36 »
Hi I am fairly new to keeping these delightful creatures, we got 3 ex batt Warrens in July 09, and they have been very healthy and happy , until last thursday ,2nd Oct 09, when we noticed BB ( BIG BIRD) was looking droopy and was not eating , drinking a lot and had very watery poo, she stayed in the pen ( really unusual), this went on until Monday morning when she was overnight a lot better and although still weak she started doing "chook" type stuff again.
I had been covinced she had egg yolk peritinitus, ( as I am not at all sure she has laid much in all the time we have had her, but as they are almost totally free range its difficult to be sure )and was all set for the vet on Monday, I had treated her with live yoghurt olive oil and chicken crumbs mixed together, and a little live yoghurt on its own .
I am still alittle concerned as her poo is GREEN now, and she does still get very tired.
I had treated them with verm ex the week before, and always use cider vinegar, any ideas ? ( sorry for the long winded story )Thanks Ju 

grumpydad

Re: sick chook
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2009, 07:46 »
i think green poo is a sign of cocci which needs to be treated by a vet asap.
if i am wrong i am sure someone more experienced will be along to let you know.
she needs an antibiotic to deaal with coccidiosis.

martyn

Vember

« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2009, 08:21 »
Bright green poops can sometimes be a sign of worms.
Personally I wouldn't use vermx as in my opinion it is more a preventative rather than cure and it also doesn't kill gape worm.

I think if she is looking down and not eating properly then a trip to the vets will be your best bet :)

Sarah :)

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2009, 10:27 »
Not cocci in my opinion, battery birds are innoculated against the 12 most common strains.