HELP !!!!!

• 12 Replies

Vickie01

HELP !!!!!
« on: September 29, 2009, 21:51 »
Hi Everyone,
I have recently joined the forum as I am in the process of sectioning off part of my garden to grow my own vegetables, which I have never done before, Ive never even managed to grow anything from a seed, it gets to 1 inch then dies, so as you can imagine i'm being very adventurous!!! anyway, I am also considering getting chickens, 3 to be precise, yes ive already chosen their names, masie, mildred and matilda, ive prepared my son and shown him photos of what he is to build for me next, which is the hen house and run, so this is our first step, just wandered if anyone could give us any advice before I actually commit to getting chickens or growing vegetables as I dont want to get it wrong, especially with the chickens !!!
Vickie  :D

Vickie01

Re: HELP !!!!!
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2009, 21:52 »
Just wanted to add that its not all bad, i have got a fantastic herb garden !!!!!!
if i do say so myself as its still alive  :happy:

noshed

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2009, 23:03 »
I am more of a tesco chicken person but there are some excellent information things on this site.
Your main requirement will be a camera, to keep us all happy.
Self-sufficient in rasberries and bindweed. Slug pellets can be handy.

Brambles

« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2009, 00:05 »
Hi Vickie...  We are all novices at first, some (like me) take it really slowly...  I started about 6 years ago growing veg, one bed at first then each year I added another.  We all get failures sometimes.   It is so rewarding when we get our successes and it more than makes up for any crops that go wrong...
I have had chickens now for about 6 years too... I LOVE them, much more than I could have imagined.  Sometimes they are a bit of a worry, but the people here are sooooo helpful that you cannot go too far wrong for long :D