Cucumbers

• 11 Replies

Derek

Cucumbers
« on: May 05, 2007, 07:31 »
This is my first year for growing cucumbers.
On the main stem small cucumbers are growing
do I rub them off?
Also any more tips on growing cucumbers.
Thank you

leeky

Cucumbers
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2007, 14:26 »
mrs came home with 1 cuke plant the other day. i have no idea what to do either.  only a vague idea that a few are needed to pollenate them maybe?

i'll take a seat  :lol:

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Cucumbers
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2007, 17:16 »
No take off the male flowers you don't want them pollinated, they'll get fat and seedy

leeky

Cucumbers
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2007, 19:10 »

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Cucumbers
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2007, 19:21 »
Well I never let my cucumbers do naughty things in the greenhouse while I'm not looking  :roll:

Cucumbers - bottom of page

shaun

Cucumbers
« Reply #5 on: May 05, 2007, 19:45 »
so how can you tell the difference between a male flower and a female flower  :?:
feed the soil not the plants
organicish
you learn gardening by making mistakes

sclarke624

Cucumbers
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2007, 20:19 »
Also my first year of growing most veg, in particular cucumber.  Here's what I have discovered:
OUTDOOR CUCUMBER
as per Dr. D.G.Hessayon book Fertilization is essential NEVER remove the male flowers.
Pinch out the growing tip when the plants have developed 6 or 7 leaves.  Side shoots will then develop. Any shoots not bearing flowers should be pinched out at the 7th leaf (not sure what that means and how you distinguish side shoot from main stem, as mine all look smae to me).
Once the fruits have started to swell feed with liquid tomato fertilizer.

I have marketmore on the go at the mo'.  Book more  up to date than the older one as printed/updated 2006.

INDOOR CUCUMBER/GREENHOUSE
Remove all male flowers from Ordinary varieties - fertilized fruit is bitter.
Feed as outdoor.