chickens and passion fruits

• 7 Replies

didan

chickens and passion fruits
« on: September 16, 2009, 19:10 »
i have recently been given 6 hens so i am quite new to looking after them i must be doing something right cause they give me beautifull fresh eggs every day.  My problem is that when i let them out to roam around the garden they make a beeline for my passion friuts, i know these fruits are not edible to us humans what i want to know is will they hurt my hens. does anybody know please.

Kate and her Ducks

Re: chickens and passion fruits
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2009, 19:36 »
Are you sure? What I know as passion fruits are edible although they don't usually fruit in the UK, just flower. Where are you? Don't know about the plants though. Most chickens don't seem to eat stuff that is poisonous.
Be like a duck. Calm on the surface but always paddling like the dickens underneath.

Chookiechook

• riverside quails
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2009, 20:03 »
I have eaten a UK passion fruit and lived :) :)  It was pretty tasteless though :)

Mine make a beeline for the crab  apples (I think thats what they are) that are all over my lawn at the moment :)
I love Pekins, Polands and Seramas :) and eggs!!!

8doubles

« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2009, 20:05 »
The last cold winter knocked my passion flower for six, it`s just about alive but i used to eat the fruit no problems. There`s not much in them compared to the ones grown for the table but they are edible. Blackbirds like them as well. :)

lucylou

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2009, 21:23 »
hi there!  ive got a psaaion fruit in my garden and the hens found one which was split open and ate the pips, i was a bit worried at first but they were fine so i split open the other fruits & let them have them too :D

viettaclark

« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2009, 23:11 »