Newby seeks advice

• 4 Replies

Lynda_T

Newby seeks advice
« on: September 08, 2009, 10:32 »
Hi firstly what a great bunch u all are and what a uselful site!

Im new to keeping chicken getting organised at the mo (soooo eggsited) and so far ive got the coop and im fencing an area off around the coop to give them more space.  Im planning on getting 3 Brahma's from my local farm, just young birds to keep for eggs and pets ofcourse!  :)

First wee thing - My coop says would keep 4 birds however only has nesting for 2??? Should i just get 2 birds i was planning 3? The Cocoon2000 measures incl nest box and roof overhangs approx 203cm wide x 81.5cm deep x 102.5cm high (80" x 41" x 32")

Here's my second wee dilema, the fence around is around 3ft...conflicting reports say my hens may jump this! My garden fence is 6ft however at a section its around 4ft and the dog next door is pretty fiesty so i dont want to risk the birds jumping/flying over???

Should i net it off? I am planning to have one wind clipped??  I will be getting my hens in around a week, and i just want to make sure i have it all sorted b4 then.

thanks

AmandaH

• Experienced Member
Re: Newby seeks advice
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2009, 12:44 »
Hello Lynda.

I am pretty new to this chicken-keeping malarkey too, having only had my girls for just over a month but, for what it's worth, I can give you my thoughts until someone more experienced comes along...

I have four birds but a nesting box for two - it is not where they sleep (well, they're not supposed to but mine are ex-batts and, hey, if they want to sleep in the nest box then I'm not bothered) but just where - in theory - they go to do egg things so you don't need the same number of nest boxes as you do hens.

I have learned from this site that two hens is a bad thing - if something happens to one you are left with only (lonely) hen - so I'd stick to your plan for three.