Help with Village Show

• 8 Replies

robinaber

Help with Village Show
« on: August 26, 2009, 17:53 »
Being a novice, I've left it a bit late preparing my onions for the show this Saturday. Does anyone know what I could do to them to make them look less pale?

Also does anyone know how I can straighten my runner beans when I pick them?

peapod

• Pea Goddess
Re: Help with Village Show
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2009, 21:46 »
Cant help you, but maybe someone else can? Anyone?
"I think the carrot infinitely more fascinating than the geranium. The carrot has mystery. Flowers are essentially tarts. Prostitutes for the bees. There is, you'll agree, a certain je ne sais quoi oh so very special about a firm young carrot" Withnail and I

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2009, 22:09 »
I don't know about the onions, but I'm sure that once a bean has decided to grow the shape it is, that's it. That's why show growers have to grow so many to get a few.

I think that's why show growing sits uncomfortably for me. It's fine if the produce is used, but I know that's not the case with some.

Here's half the world starving and we want to show it off.

Sorry - I'll get off soap box.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

pushrod

« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2009, 22:45 »
Being a novice, I've left it a bit late preparing my onions for the show this Saturday. Does anyone know what I could do to them to make them look less pale?

I thought the idea was that they should look pale  :unsure: I think one of the main things is to pick 3(?) that are near enough identical in size and appearance even if it means not using your largest ones.
All these moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain.

LivvyW

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2009, 16:30 »
Robinaber,

I've seen all shades of onions at our local shows.