ILT OR MG

• 23 Replies

drumcrow

• ALAN
    • doyle jewellery design
ILT OR MG
« on: August 26, 2009, 17:39 »
Hi all
I need some help i have a hand full of chickens that have either ILT OR MYCOPLASMA GALLISEPTICUM. there on antibiotics at this time so what i need to know is should i cull all of the chickens because they will all have one of the above diseases and will never really be infection free and there eggs and meat would also be unedible well i think you can still eat the eggs because its not pasted through hen to egg.. And should i knock down the chicken pen/house and destroy it and do all the necessary biosecurity stuff that goes with it all.
if any one could shed some light on this it would be great.

regards
alan
if you have chickens you have rats

iwantanallotment

Re: ILT OR MG
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2009, 17:48 »
I'm not an expert drumcrow, but have just had a MG situation here, lost 2 youngsters to it but thankfully the 3rd is thriving.

I wouldn't cull - you shouldn't breed from them as they will remain carriers, but the eggs are fine to eat once antibiotics are finished.

Hope that helps.

karlooben

« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2009, 18:04 »
i know nothing of these probs as i havent had to deal with them but if it is safe for u to eat the eggs after wards make sure you give at least 14 days after the antiboitics have finished just to be on the safe side .
"Until one has loved an animal, part of their soul remains unawakened."

drumcrow

• ALAN
    • doyle jewellery design
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2009, 18:09 »
how long does it last i heard it could take up to 6wks i have read lots of info on ILT and MG and the out come isnt good. could you tell me a little more about your 3 sick chucks and what you did about it.

Foxy

« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2009, 19:02 »
Could you let us know of the symptoms they are presenting with?? :)

drumcrow

• ALAN
    • doyle jewellery design
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2009, 20:14 »