Co-habiting in the same plot?

• 16 Replies

KathyM

Co-habiting in the same plot?
« on: August 11, 2009, 08:11 »
Hi folks

I am a complete beginner so please bear with me!

Our new plot is 60ft x 20ft roughly and given that we've decided we want to grow most of the planet's wares on it, we have to narrow it down now.  I was wondering whether any of you could inspire me as to what can be grown in amongst other veg/fruit so as to double up some of the space?  Are there any that do better in this way or is it just pushing my luck?

Thanks

Kathy

crowndale

Re: Co-habiting in the same plot?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2009, 08:14 »
don't do it myself coz I can't stand runner beans, but see loads of people growing lettuce underneath the bean plants while they are growing up their frames.
Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult.
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Dominic

« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2009, 08:17 »
Planting two plants next to each other forces them to compete for nutrients, water, sunlight and space.
That gets you two weak plants.

Your unlikely to grow all your veg on it, but you have quite a lot of space there.
We use chemicals in this garden, just as god intended

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2009, 08:23 »
I agree with Dominic !  The spaacings given in the gardening books are there for good reason - not so that you can walk between the plants  ;)

kittiwake

« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2009, 08:58 »
Bear in mind that some crops you want to grow wont be filling a particular place on the plot the whole year. First early potatoes and broad beans are examples. When these crops are finished you can then grow something else in their place. That way the ground is kept covered to minimise the weeds and you get to grow more types of veg. The key is in planning where to put everything.

Once my first earlies potatoes were dug up up I stuck in another batch of leeks, though you could easily put something else in the space.

Kitti