gooseberries and other fruits

• 15 Replies

TTG

gooseberries and other fruits
« on: August 10, 2009, 18:53 »
I am a newbie who is about to take on an overgrown and over built on plot. As a big fan of gooseberries I intend to grow these on the plot (at the back near where there is likely to be a little shade from the trees that are at that end). Does anyone have any preferences for varieties? Indeed any advice on fruit bushes such as gooseberries. I am thinking of 4 bushes and possibly some currants (black most likely but also red or white).

Any advice on good cropping varieties? Not too bothered about if they are sweeter just want a good tastey cropping variety.

Also, is there any other type of small fruit bush that I could grow? I know raspberry canes and the other similar fruits such as loganberry, blackberry, etc., but I am not really interested in them as much. I have looked into a few books but wondered if there is some unusual fruit out there that caan grow in this country that I might have missed. It is kind of like vegetables from other parts of the world, not all things can be bought in a supermarket but could, perhaps be grown instead.

realfood

• Experienced Member
    • Grow Your Own Info
Re: gooseberries and other fruits
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2009, 19:22 »
For gooseberries, try Invicta for quantity, or Pax for sweetness.
I grow most but not all of other soft fruits such as BLACKBERRY      BLACKCURRANT      BLUEBERRY      CRANBERRY      GOJI BERRIES      GOOSEBERRY      GRAPES        HUCKLEBERRY       LINGONBERRY        JOSTABERRY          KIWI or CHINESE GOOSEBERRY      LOGANBERRY (see Tayberry)                 PEPINO                RASPBERRY     REDCURRANT            RHUBARB           STRAWBERRY           TAYBERRY             WHITECURRANT(see Redcurrant)      WORCESTERBERRY
« Last Edit: July 05, 2011, 23:49 by John »

Trillium

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2009, 19:23 »