Butternut Squash

• 21 Replies

devondave

Butternut Squash
« on: July 29, 2009, 19:52 »
I planted a one butternut squash plant and its going great, its going in all directions, I was wondering about it having from what I can see all male flowers on it (my gherkins were like this but then went mad and produced loads of female flowers and Ive had loads of gherkins) so will female flowers turn up at some point?  the other question is do I need to remove male flowers once ive got female flowers and do I need to pollinate by hand

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Butternut Squash
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2009, 19:56 »
They will turn up.

No need to remove the males, (got something against us?)

Hand pollinating probably not neccessary, but won't do any harm.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

titch

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2009, 21:37 »
this is my first year of growing bs, so how do i tell the difference between the male and female flowers, and how does one go about ahem pollinating them please  :blush:
i have one tiny squash on the plant so far but if i can help it along would love to know how

thanks
just keep breathing................

Bombers

« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2009, 21:41 »
this is my first year of growing bs, so how do i tell the difference between the male and female flowers, and how does one go about ahem pollinating them please  :blush:
i have one tiny squash on the plant so far but if i can help it along would love to know how

thanks
Here's my one and only BNS that I grew last year!
This is the female...... :)

and if you remove one of the male flowers, pull off the petals, and give it a good rub around on the female flower... then hey presto!
Life begins... On the kitchen windowsill.

Paul Plots

« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2009, 00:12 »
Is that sort of thing allowed in public Bombers?   :blush: