poultry farm

• 24 Replies

animal mad

• Experienced Member
poultry farm
« on: July 25, 2009, 14:49 »
i have just been on a 1 hour introduction into poultry keeping, he went through all the normal stuff that i have read about and then showed me pure bred chickens with lice and loads of eggs and then red mite in other chicken house, i was quite surprised i thought if you had these pests you would get rid of them straight away am i being too fussy. i am a veterinary nurse by trade and it just seems a bit wrong, but then i amnot sure who the world of farming goes.

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: poultry farm
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2009, 14:56 »
I think we all would deal with them as soon as possible - red mites can kill chickens  :ohmy:. Bet you came out of there itching.
Staffies are softer than you think.

animal mad

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2009, 15:56 »
it was an experience, i have come home and showered before going out to see my chicks. maybe having such a large scale operation he doesnt have the same amount of time that you would if you only have a few. it is a shame i was going to ask if i could do some work experience type thing for him to get some more experience with poultry before we get a small holding.

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2009, 16:42 »
I wouldn't bother going there again if I was you, his animal husbandry obviously leaves a lot to be desired. I am surprised he had red mite as I would have thought his poultry sheds would have been creosoted (and before anybody shouts at me that it is illegal it isn't for farmers or for recoating timber that was previously creosoted). Did he say anything about prevention of the mites and lice? Perhaps once this lot of hens have gone then he may be treating his shed before the next lot - who knows.

Foxy

« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2009, 17:50 »
Well that really surprises me! the most important thing about chicken keeping is being deligant with husbandry.