what greens to feed

• 18 Replies

adi

what greens to feed
« on: July 22, 2009, 16:26 »
I'm new to the chicken thing and have been reading up on the subject constantly,( much to the annoyance of my wife). i understand greens are important but i'm not sure what to give. i know onions and peppers are off the menu and i understand cabbage is a good one. but what about leaves? i grow some veg myself and live near an allotment and once harvested most veg has the leave removed and i assume these would be fine for the hens? the leaves i'm not sure about are the ones from my potatoes, would they be poisonous?  what other greens would you recomend also?
thanks adi.

Brambles

Re: what greens to feed
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2009, 16:40 »
My experience is that chickens eat the things that are good for them... if they free range they come across potato leaves etc... but they wont eat them if they are bad...  The main food is Layers Pellets with some corn for a treat in the late afternoon.   Green stuff is good but not too much as they have a proper ballanced diet in the pellets (so I am told)

I grew curly kale last winter and the chooks LOVED them so am growing more this winter just for them..  Mine love dandelions, slugs, most soil pests :D, they adore apples but I am careful about giving them too many....  Layers pellets are  definitely the main food for my girls.

bexy

« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2009, 18:02 »
They love brassica leaves,spinach,beetroot leaves and pea shoots.
I also give them tinned sweetcorn which they go absolutely crazy over and cooked potatoes....ooooh and spagetti :tongue2:

Cass

« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2009, 18:50 »
Our chooks love broccoli, green beans, carrots, peas, sprouts - anything leftover from sunday roast veggies really!  (composter somewhat depleated since we got the chooks!) they also go mad over bread - but not massive chunks of it!!

8doubles

« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2009, 19:22 »
When  you`r weeding don`t forget they love chickweed. :)