sleeping arrangments

• 14 Replies

mikeyd

sleeping arrangments
« on: July 21, 2009, 10:42 »
Hi everyone,

I am totally new to keeping chickens so any tips are welcome, got my 3 girls 5 days ago and believe they are about 16 weeks old. they have a pen with 2 nesting boxes and a small run attached but have the run of my garden during the day, I have no trouble putting them to bed at night they just make their own way into the coup at night, always around 9-9.30pm, there are 2 perches but they all ignore these and bed down in the nesting boxes, apart from the inconvenience to me having to clean the nesting boxes every day is this going to cause any problems with laying, have had 1 egg so far but none since.
I bought them as pets for my wife and I and am chuffed to bits with them and cant believe how individual they are, each one has its own personality already and each one behaves differently around me to how they behave around my wife, they are called Mildred, Agnes and Beryl, wifes choice not mine.   ???

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: sleeping arrangments
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2009, 10:53 »
Hi Mikeyd and welcome to the forum. Your best bet is after Agnes, Beryl and Mildred have gone to bed and are sleepy lift them out of their nest boxes and place them on their perches - perching is natural for them. You may have to do this for a few nights but hopefully they should get the hang of it leaving the nest boxes free from poo. Having said that one of my hens absolutely refuses to perch (she is about 14 months so doubt she will ever do so). I am now having to do the same with some of my babies who are 9 weeks old who will perch in the trees all day but at night seem to forget to do so  :D And finally yes hens are great and have very different personalities indeed.
Staffies are softer than you think.

cathangirl

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2009, 10:55 »
Welcome to the Forum, Mike, and to the wonderful world of chicken keeping.