skinny sweetcorn

• 16 Replies

Plot22

• Experienced Member
  • Don't compost your kids!!
skinny sweetcorn
« on: July 06, 2009, 21:37 »
This is my first time growing sweetcorn and would welcome any advice.  My plants are approx 2ft, very pale, skinny and weedy looking, but each has two cobs starting to grow and thicken up nicely.  All other plots on our site are sporting beautifully thick set, dark green leafy plants that are quickly heading for the skies, though I can't see any sign of cobs setting.  I can't understand why my plants look so bad but are producing good looking cobs so early.  What are everyone elses plants doing???

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: skinny sweetcorn
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2009, 21:41 »
Mine are about 5ft and the wafty bits are starting to grow out of the top, but i've still not cot any cobs growing from lower to be pollinated :blink: Think they had better hurry up, the tops are growing at an alarming rate. They look a nice dark green and healthy, so i trust they will sort themselves out in time :D

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2009, 21:45 »
(Wafty bits = tassles) :tongue2:
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

Mitsy

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2009, 21:46 »
Mine are still only few inches high think I got no hope  :lol:
You have not lost the battle unless you quit :)

Michelle x

sazzy123

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2009, 00:19 »
mine are only about 2ft tall but quite think.... they seem th have grown a lot in last couple of weeks though no sign of anything yet

peapod

• Pea Goddess
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2009, 01:16 »