mangetout

• 29 Replies

KT

• Experienced Member
mangetout
« on: July 02, 2009, 16:34 »
I've grown a small row of mangetout, a few weeks ago it produced a small handful of pea's but it's gone abit quiet, is that it done? or will it produce more?
« Last Edit: July 02, 2009, 22:53 by Ice »

barney rubble

• We are Barney and Rubble and we love digging
Re: mange toute
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2009, 17:09 »
Mine have only just started flowering, so can't say what will happen- but there are lots of mangetout growers on here who can advise

Jay Dubya

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2009, 20:35 »
Hi, once they get started they just keep cropping, it's been very dry maybe a drop of water.

Lee G

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2009, 20:37 »
Have you any more flowers on them?

It's my first attempt at them this year and although growing well seemed slow to show any fruit, picked 10 good sized ones last Sunday and when I went Tuesday there were loads, so picked them and ate them the same night, my wife popped down today and tells me there are loads more on again, so I'm off to pick some more in a minute when I go to water.

The packet says "pick regularly for the best yields", the variety is Mangetout Oregon Sugar Pod from Wilko's.

Bernard

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2009, 22:32 »
Once they start, they crop so fast you can't keep up with them. If KT's has started and then stopped there must be something seriously wrong.

KT

• Experienced Member
Re: mangetout
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2009, 07:10 »

The plants look healthy there are no sign's of anything wrong.

i've been watering regualy, there are a couple of flowers here and there, so they are still sort of producing i picked 2 pea's (just 2) last night. It just doens't seem to be producing as much as i expected.