parsnips

• 18 Replies

landgirl

parsnips
« on: June 24, 2009, 15:04 »
Hi, I planted parsnip plug plants in April, they were toddling along nicely but have suddenly had a mammoth growing spurt and have produced long yellow flowers on stems, gone to seed or is this okay.

Sue33

Re: parsnips
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2009, 15:15 »

Hi landgirl,

well it's my first year at parsnips as well but mine don't have any flowers on them, don't think it's a good sign, someone will be along in a minute to tell us  :)

landgirl

« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2009, 15:20 »
I will wait with you in anticipation :)

Lady Lottie

• I love Hugh Fearnley Wearnley... :o))))
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2009, 15:22 »
I am no expert but it sounds like they have gone to seed.  Had a quick Google and found someone on another site discussing a similar problem, someone suggested they started off some more on damp  kitchen paper thus:

"I usually do mine on damp kitchen paper, put it in a tupperware box with lid on and then stick it in the airing cupboard, usually start sprouting in about 4 days - then transplant them into toilet rolls filled with earth and plant out when I have 5 minutes" 
The thread was dated this time last year - no idea if it works, or whether anyone on here has ever tried it, just thought I would pass on the info - might be worth a try. :)
"To forget how to dig the earth and to tend the soil is to forget ourselves." - Mahatma Gandhi

"Gardening requires lots of water - most of it in the form of perspiration." - Lou Erickson, cartoonist and illustrator

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2009, 16:15 »
Sadly, they have bolted and will be of no use.

This is very unusual, in fact I've never known parsnips to bolt before.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

Ourveggiepatch

• Experienced Member
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2009, 17:18 »
Hi