growing through fabric

• 16 Replies

Green Goddess

growing through fabric
« on: June 17, 2009, 19:31 »
I am very new to this but there must be a reason why I shouldn't grow everything through fabric right?  It does seem an easier way of avoiding constant weeding but I must be missing something otherwise why doesn't everybody do it? 

SG6

Re: growing through fabric
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2009, 19:47 »
I would say that it is because you have to lift and dig the ground at some time. So up comes the fabric.

Also what is planted at a position will alter so new fabric and holes required. How would you sow a row of carrots in fabric?

Also there is more then weeds to think of, people here would appear to be having problems with cabbage root fly. If the eggs of these are laid around the base of a brassica and get in then fabric traps them there.

I add pelleted chicken poo  :tongue2: at regular intervals, when I happen to bump into the tub, fabric would kind of upset this.

Also I suspect that rain and air have some effect on the soil and preventing this combination may have an unwanted effect (No idea what however).

Also the robin wouldn't be able to collect the little bugs that I turn up when raking, hoeing and digging.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2009, 20:17 »
All excellent points

One other which occurs to me is that weeds can still grow through the hole in the fabric, so it doesn't completely prevent them - better to get them out first if possible.

I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Ropster

« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2009, 20:41 »
I am growing my brasiccas and strawberrys through fabrick as weading between them is a pain under netting, everything else gets a hoeing now and then

diggerjoe

« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2009, 21:50 »