spinach changes

• 4 Replies

earthing83

• Experienced Member
spinach changes
« on: June 15, 2009, 18:01 »
Hi everyone,

I have been happily picking spinach for a few weeks now. For most of this time the plants were full and bushy and I was picking leaves from all plants. Suddenly the plants have shot up n height, with the stems lengthening by inches in days and the new growth on the plants looks different. I am new to this and wondered if anyone could tell me what happens as spinach starts to go to seed or bolt? I'm trying to decide whether to pick it all for freezing. Thanks!

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: spinach changes
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2009, 18:21 »
Sounds to me as though the plant is putting up a flower stalk.  The leaves tend to go bitter when that happens.  I'd remove the remaining leaves sooner rather than later, and just check some for taste before freezing the rest.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

manna

« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2009, 18:37 »
it's definitely bolting. you can pick out the thickened central stalk, that looks like it may produce a flower. this will delay the process, but not stop it, unfortunately. I eat mine anyway - bit of garlic and butter and it's fine!

Did you plant it this year? if so that's very early to bolt - you may want to investigate varieties. Mine started bolting last month from last spring's  planting. by choosing the right variety you can get spinach for most of the year - it tends to die down in the winter, but perks up a bit in the spring, and gives you another month or so of leaves before starting to bolt, by which time this years will be planted, hopefully. I use a slow to bolt perpetual spinach, not a true spinach, but just as good, I think.

kermit

• Experienced Member
  • Small garden, large raised beds
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2009, 22:18 »