Cabbage question

• 7 Replies

GrowHappy

Cabbage question
« on: June 08, 2009, 19:55 »
I am a newbie veg grower. :)
I planted several types of brassicas late last autumn. My first mistake was to lose all references to what I had planted where and everything in the brassica bed got muddled up. :blush:
Not a problem really except that now I have some tall straggly 'cabbages??' that are on stalks about a foot long. I'm pretty certain they are cabbages of some sort as they are just beginning to produce heads and the leaves from the lower stems which we have harvested are good to eat and taste like cabbage!
I just wondered if anyone knows why they might be on long stalks? And, if they're not cabbages, what might they be? If they are cabbage - are the long stalks a sign of a mistake in my growing system (other than the mixed up planting of course)!

barney rubble

• We are Barney and Rubble and we love digging
Re: Cabbage question
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 19:59 »
Have you any idea what else you planted GrowHappy - it may help identify them

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 20:01 »
Some large growing cabbage does end up on stalks by the time you remove lower leaves as they go yellow...or in your case to eat  :lol: or else they are your brussel sprouts :tongue2: :lol:

GrowHappy

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 20:07 »
Thanks for such quick responses!
I planted purple sprouting - which is relatively easy to recognise as it is sprouting! And two (or perhaps three?) types of cabbage and potentially some callabrese (although this is where my memory fails me completely). To be honest - I thought most of the cabbages had died and been pulled but there are about 6 strong plants that have survived and are clearly all the same variety. Of what though....????
I did not plant any brussells in this bed - they are in a small bed for winter brassicas - I onloy ever eat sprouts at Christmas!  :D

barney rubble

• We are Barney and Rubble and we love digging