Broody Hens Galore HELP

• 43 Replies

Asaunders

Broody Hens Galore HELP
« on: June 08, 2009, 16:47 »
I am new to the poultry industry and have around 20 hens of mixed breeds e.g black rocks, welshsummers, and rhode island reds. but i am struggling with eggs due to the hens being constantly broody  at the moment i already have a hen that hatched out 10 welsh summers, but now i seem to have 3 other have that are broody, i wanted to know if anyone new how 2 stop these hens being broody and start laying eggs again.
Any help is grateful.

too many girls

Re: Broody Hens Galore HELP
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 17:08 »
try hybrids or ex batts, the broodiness is bread out of them, don't know how to prevent yours going broody except locking them out of the laying area, some people believe in dunking their bums in cold water to reduce the temperature but i couldn't do that to Cassandra or Raquel, they'd be most upset.

Asaunders

« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 17:13 »
i have got to do something they are my normal reliable layers aswell and im struggling to get a consistant amount of eggs, any other advice for getting a good amount of eggs?

Foxy

« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 17:23 »
I am afraid not much you can do unless catch them really early, and move them into a dog cage or something to prevent them nesting. I have got 3 new broodies since yesterday, they must know something we dont! :D

Asaunders

« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2009, 17:26 »
its a nightmare, even my favourite hen a rhode island red is broody and im guarnteed eggs off her :( o well another dodo summer off eggs i think for me.

too many girls

« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2009, 17:40 »
i can't believe i spelt bred like that :ohmy:

Ice

• muck spreader
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2009, 17:42 »
i can't believe i spelt bred like that :ohmy:
You obviously weren't using your loaf at the time. :tongue2:
Cheese makes everything better.

Asaunders

« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2009, 17:43 »
u got any advice ICE?

Aunt Sally