Asparagus (again)

• 7 Replies

WG.

Asparagus (again)
« on: April 05, 2007, 13:04 »
Never grown it before but aquired some seed on a smoked garlic swop (thanks, BTW).  

It is Connovers Colossal.  Reckon I can suss out most of what I need to do but I wondered if it would be okay for the first year in a container (so that I can get the ground totally free from perennials).   I have some nice 2 gallon buckets which would give about 10" soil depth.  Wot d'ya fink?

agapanthus

Asparagus (again)
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2007, 14:49 »
Munt's the one to ask WG....he's got acres of the stuff!!!! (lucky *) :)

WG.

Asparagus (again)
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2007, 08:02 »
Talking of muntjac, he's been awfully quiet these past few days.  Is it rutting season ??

shaun

Asparagus (again)
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2007, 08:08 »
i think hes on the thames fishing.

i'm no expert on it but i would get it into the ground mate i got some from wilkos weeks ago and when i planted it i backfilled the trench with decent topsoil that i riddled 1st.and guess what i have an odd spear hear and there popping up already
feed the soil not the plants
organicish
you learn gardening by making mistakes

Trillium

Asparagus (again)
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2007, 16:12 »
You're talking to the master of temporary pot gardening, WG  :lol:  Yes, the seed or roots can be temporarily grown in large enough pots for the first year or 2, but I'd recommend you bury the pots in the ground for the winter because the young roots can't live through the hard frosts. Older roots can practically sit above ground and live. When your ground is cleared, add a bit of lime as asparagus prefers it slightly sweeter than others, and sand, if you can get it, to mound under the crowns to keep them dry. I buy bags of playground sand for these purposes as there's no sand anywhere in my area.

As for Munty, I believe he's away on the weekend with the 'gf' as he put it.  :lol:

WG.

Asparagus (again)