Poll

Would an illistrated catalogue of seedlings be useful?

Yes - good idea
No - forget it
Maybe
Lets start one!

Is there a catalogue of new seedlings - if not should we start one?

• 7 Replies

barney rubble

• We are Barney and Rubble and we love digging
as a newbie to veg growing, it struck me quite early on, how do I know whats growing in my cells is the seed I planted and not some weed coming up. Waiting was the only thing I could do before I knew for certain.

It would have been (and still would be) helpful to have some well illustrated manual with photos of the various seedlings at say three stages of development to refer to, both to know what you're looking at and that its healthy too.

Does anybody know if a good manual exists, and if not would it be a good idea for this site to introduce a seedling photo gallery? What do you reckon John?
« Last Edit: May 23, 2009, 06:29 by barney rubble »

mickwood

• Experienced Member
    • Our Lotty
As a fellow newbie I had the same thought myself about knowing what would be coming up and how I would know! An online 'database' would be awesome!! Maybe with a little note with the pic, eg. 'begin to harden at this stage' etc?

Oliver

as a newbie to veg growing, it struck me quite early on, how do I know whats growing in my cells is the seed I planted and not some weed coming up. Waiting was the only thing I could do before I knew for certain.

It would have been (and still would be) helpful to have some well illustrated manual with photos of the various seedlings at say three stages of development to refer to, both to know what you're looking at and that its healthy too.

Does anybody know if a good manual exists, and if not would it be a good idea for this site to introduce a seedling photo gallery? What do you reckon John?
There are some excellent websites - especially weeds - to refer to, you just have to look - try Bayer for starters: