Hmmm, Shall I have ducks??

• 26 Replies

wildwitchy

Hmmm, Shall I have ducks??
« on: May 19, 2009, 18:35 »
I've been thinking the past few weeks about having ducks. As if I'm not in an enough state about these eggs I'm doing at the minute!!

Would it be best to have hatching eggs or POL ducks? Would a broody hen hatch ducks? If not I'll get a incy. Sorry for the quest's. x

I'm not sure what sort to have. I'd like the best breed for laying eggs. Bear in mind I've got chooks. I know less about ducks than I do chickens & i'm no expert there.  ::) Always willing to learn, take advice & give them the most suitable possible home. I've had a few of my egg customers ask about duck eggs & I've always liked ducks too. I'd love geese but I just don't have the space or grass for them.

Oh by the way I've got a big hole ready made for a pond (just got to finish it) if I do have them. We was going to have koi but hub's doesn't want them now. So i'll have it!!  :)

Many Thanks,

Sharon. xxx  :happy:

poultrygeist

Re: Hmmm, Shall I have ducks??
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2009, 19:51 »
Hi ww. :)

Bear in mind, hatching eggs tend to give more drakes than females, unless you're lucky. :)

Ducks need a fair bit of space compared to chickens, can be messy, especially when it rains, but are far more entertaining and the eggs are worth more ! :D

Good luck.

Rob 8)

Vember

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2009, 19:54 »
Hi Ww

I started with young birds 3/4 month olds and I think for a beginner it's the best way to go :)

As Rob says the trouble with hatching eggs is the drakes, my call duck has hatched all males this year :(

Khaki Campbells are the best egg layers with the Welsh Harlequin and Indian Runners coming up behind :)

There is a list here of birds and the kind of production you can expect
http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=29685.0

Sarah :)

too many girls

« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2009, 20:04 »