Blight on tomato seedlings?

• 6 Replies

Chico

Blight on tomato seedlings?
« on: May 14, 2009, 10:52 »
Well, my tom seedlings are between about 7 and 12 inches high and they are showing signs of blight....   already.  :unsure:

i've got about 10 diffetent varieties and it's showing on most of them, just as i was about to put them in the greenhouse...  can blight really affect toms so early? 

it's got the yellowing of the leaves and the brown spots, but i thought i'd disinfected the trays well enough and they've been growing on my windowsil. 

any suggestions?  and advice?!

is it too late to start from seed again? 

HLS

• Experienced Member
Re: Blight on tomato seedlings?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2009, 10:55 »
I'm not an expert but I'd suggest it's probably something else unless you've been growing them in soil/compost that could have become contaminated with the blight last year.  What are they growing in and how have you been watering them?

Chico

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2009, 11:04 »
I've grown them in some compost/well rotted stuff that was supposed to be a bargain from the local garden centre*, in brand new 3 inch pots in a tray that was in the green house last year (which did have some blight),  i washed them with soapy water and disinfectant...   perhaps the disinfectant wasn't strong enough?   I've just been using a measuring jug and tap water to water them, not over watered or underwatered (or so i think) 

i don't think it's spider mite or water splashes, because some of the leabves are yellow with brown spots and some of the other leaves are just starting to get the brown spots on them...

* perhaps it could be some of that contaminated stuff i was reading about in here?  (paranoid? moi?!)

sssb

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2009, 11:45 »