Onions - Help Desperately Needed

• 8 Replies

jenjen

Onions - Help Desperately Needed
« on: May 11, 2009, 10:06 »
Hi All - I am in need of desperate help. I am new to gardening and have an allotment which seems to be doing well. My problem is my husband went  into the loval pub at the weekend and came home with 2 onion plants which he said he had entered us into the pub onion growing competition for who can grow the biggest one - I need all the tips i can get because I wanna win he he ! many thanks
Jennie

paintedlady

Re: Onions - Help Desperately Needed
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2009, 13:16 »
vegmandan is the "giant onion man" to ask see http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=17437.0  ;)
Failure is only a temporary change in direction to set you straight for your next success.
Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.

Trebor

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2009, 15:22 »
No expert on this but, ‘Ailsa Craig’ was the variety that I heard of as being a good show onion. Probably worth checking out if you can’t find the varieties given in the link.

SG6

« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2009, 18:18 »
Presently growing mammoth onion but cannot give much advice as the germination rate was awful. The ones I have managed to germinate should come out large.

Am I to gather that you are supposed to grow the plants that were brought back?

Also where are you, if just up/down the road from me I could donate a couple of spare ones. I really do think that location should be mandatory to fill in as it helps when any advice is requested.

blackbob

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2009, 18:48 »