Potting on and hardening up?

• 8 Replies

gawk

Potting on and hardening up?
« on: April 30, 2009, 11:45 »
I've been putting my cucumbers and toms outside when the weather permits (3 or 4 days now) to start hardening them up a bit. Today I potted the cucumbers on from 3 inch to 5 inch pots, should I let them rest indoors today or is it ok to keep them outside to continue the hardening up process?

Also, these will be going into an unheated greenhouse on the plot, they will not be planted outside. How much hardening up do I need to do, is it the same amount as if they were going outside or am I doing too much already?
It's all too much!

Gardeningguru

Re: Potting on and hardening up?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2009, 12:11 »
Im not an expert,  but if they were my plants, I'd "harden them off" for at least a week or ten days as a minimum.  A week longer on top wouldn't hurt..

If anything it reduces the stress on the plant, while maintaining a good growth rate, which is the whole idea of it.

After that period of time I would have no hesistation at all, to planting into an unheated greenhouse.  They are quite a few degrees warmer at night than the outside, an at this time of year that counts for alot..

shay

« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2009, 12:15 »
My greenhouse shares the garden with 2 dogs who are far from smart, so was wondering if I open both the doors to allow for major circulation would this be enough for hardening up purposes or do I literally need to get them out of the unheated greenhouse completely?

paintedlady

« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2009, 13:40 »
Also, these will be going into an unheated greenhouse on the plot, they will not be planted outside.

I wouldn't bother trying to harden them off unless you deliberately want to slow down their growth rate for some reason?