Are these poos normal for chicks? Help!!

• 5 Replies

Fredschook

Are these poos normal for chicks? Help!!
« on: April 28, 2009, 23:31 »
Hi! I am pretty new to keeping chickens & have recently been given 2 chicks from my daughters school. The chicks are now 5 weeks old and doing really well, except for their poos!! Recently one or two of thier poos a day have what looks like a red mucus / jelly like substance in it. The lady who i bought my POL girls from thought it could be coccidiosis and I have been treating them with the coxid she gave me for the last 7 days.
However, looking at your chicken poo pics, thier poos look very much like those with intestinal lining, but I was wondering if they would be having these sort of poos on a regular basis?
Other than these poos they are fine, eating and drinking well and really lively!!
Any help or advice that can be given would be greatly appreciated!! :)

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
Re: Are these poos normal for chicks? Help!!
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2009, 23:48 »
Hi Fred.  I'd be wary of giving small chicks coxoid.  What are you feeding them on?  We give ours farmgate feed which has an anticoccidiostat in it already, so if you give them something like that, they shouldn't have coccidiosis.

I'd be inclined to go with aunties pics if the chicks have no sign of illness and are eating and drinking fine, but then I'm no expert.

Fredschook

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2009, 09:47 »
Hi! Thank you very much for replying to me.
We had the chicks at 10 days old & I put them on a medicated chick crumb with the anticoccidiostat. The poos that they have are all fine, except literally an odd one or two with this red mucus in it - for about the last 10 days. Being new to keeping chicks I really want to make sure they're all ok !! :)
I think you are right & the pics of the coccidiosis poos are much more bright red compared to my chicks' which are far more like the intestinal lining pic.