Catching my hens

• 5 Replies

slowef

• http://journals.aol.co.uk/slowef/thehenhouse/
Catching my hens
« on: March 28, 2007, 17:45 »
OK newbie here again.  I have a mum and chicks who I put out in a run during the day weather permitting.  She pecks me to bits when I put her away as I can't carry her and the chicks is there a less stressful way for her.  I tried putting a box in but she wouldn't oblige by getting in it!!

I have a large hen house which I am having refurbished and intend having a run attached with a wire top to stop foxes climbing on the house and jumping in.  I have also asked OH to sink wire into the ground to stop burrowing of said foxes ( we live next to a railway line, told they frequently live close to these)  How long before I can let them roam outside the run. How will I go about getting them in at night, I have a fear that the first time I let them roam my garden I will never get them in again, we have 2 acres so plenty of room to get away.

thanks

karenn

Catching my hens
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2007, 19:52 »
we live fairly near to a railway line, and we are having MAJOR problems with foxes, we have seen three different ones, and one of them has cubs, so yes be very carefull.  If you are struggling to get them in at night just throw some corn into the place they are sleeping in, they will be in there like a shot, once they get used to where they are sleeping at night, you will find they will put themselves to bed.
"When counting, try not to mix chickens with blessings."

muntjac

Catching my hens
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2007, 20:09 »