Different types of tomatoes in a greenhouse

• 20 Replies

Sal1610

Different types of tomatoes in a greenhouse
« on: April 24, 2009, 21:48 »
I'm getting my first greenhouse soon (v excited!) and am planning to grow Moneymaker, Gardener's Delight, and Roma in there. Plus, a friend has given me some spares of a couple of different sorts. My question, is, would there be a problem in growing several differnt types of tomatoes in a relatively small confined space? Will pollination get muddled up? (You can tell I'm not really a scientist...)

Thanks for any advice about growing toms in a greenhouse, I'm not new to toms but I am new to greenhouses :)

Sal

Eatyourgreens

• Experienced Member
Re: Different types of tomatoes in a greenhouse
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2009, 21:51 »
Would only be a potential problem if you were wanting to keep the seed.

If one type of tom fertilised another, the tom that grew would be the type it should be on that plant, but any resulting offspring from the seeds could be a hybrid.

Hope that helps.

Bob

Sal1610

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2009, 21:57 »
Thanks Bob! That was what I thought (dredging up my O level biology lessons from years ago) so its great to have that confirmed.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2009, 21:57 »
 AS your mixing them up you won't be able to save seed, but this year's fruit will not be effected.
Plant them deeper, up to their first set of leaves, on planting out. If they are going direct into the border, rather than pots -sink a bottle with the end cut off next to each plant so you can water deeply to the roots, as long as you leave (thinks) about 18in -24in between them they'll be fine.

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2009, 22:03 »