Pecking order in new house

• 5 Replies

Rubellite

Pecking order in new house
« on: April 23, 2009, 21:31 »
The new house is nearly ready and the electric fencing has arrived. Hoping to move the girls over the weekend.
 :unsure:
The two newer girls are still getting a hard time from the original two. Would it be of any benefit to move the newer girls into the new quarters a couple of days before the other two? Do you think this would give them one over the older girls or do you think I would be creating more problems? Any ideas appreciated  ::) Thanks.

mumsy

Re: Pecking order in new house
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2009, 22:08 »
I would leave them as is, my girls have taken at least 4 weeks to get along  with my new two.  Even after them spending 3 weeks separated, but in view.  Since the newbies have been laying all is ok.

wadz81

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2009, 07:59 »
I'm no expert but would put them all in together it does settle down eventually, the old girls might get a bit nasty if the new girls get to check out the new 4* pad first! We built a new run at the weekend and chucked all in together ::)

HENrietta

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2009, 09:04 »
HI, can i just tell you what i did and it worked wonders!  :) :) :) :)
I had 2 older hens and introduced 2 newbies, we separated them, they could all see but not touch. Anyway after 4/5 weeks the older girls still was not happy, they use to pace up and down really shouting across and the two newbies :mad:. Then i read on this site that  you can disorientate them. So i swopped them over, it worked wonders, i think my two older girls really thought the grass was greener, 'well my little loves - it ain't'. Anyway after 8 long weeks they are all together and  all happy, they even flock together when they free range! If i was you i would try anything - it cant hurt them. :) :) :)

All the best
HENrietta
Live, Love and Laugh!

chickenlady

• Happychooks Blog