Chickens

• 6 Replies

rogerthefish

• Location: Coelbren (Brecon Beacons National Park) South West Wales UK
Chickens
« on: April 21, 2009, 19:31 »
 :)
I am an absolute beginner so here goes.  I recently bought a chicken coop with enough room for 8 chickens.  I will shortly be buying 3 one year old Warren hens and need some tips on feeding and bedding.  I have a bag of mixed corn, a bag of layers pellets and some grit.  Do I mix them in the feeder and in what proportions? Regarding bedding - do I spread it all over the floor of the chicken house or just in the nest box.

Any help really appreciated.

Vember

Re: Chickens
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2009, 19:43 »
Hi Roger

Welcome to the hen house :)

I leave Grit & oyster shell down at all times in dishes on the floor so that they can go and have a peck as and when they feel the need :)

In my coop I have sawdust on the floor and in the nest box, you can add straw to the nest box but Grannie Annie recently mentioned that this can sometimes cause respiratory problems :( Never put hay in as the hens will eat it and it can then lead to impacted crops :(

Sarah :)

cathangirl

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2009, 19:47 »
The layers pellets need to be on offer all day, but the mixed corn is just for a treat about 30 mins before their bed-time.
Water should be on offer at all times, fresh daily.
Grit and oyster shell is often sold mixed, so that can go in one dish, on offer at all times, but if you buy them seperately you can keep them that way in two dishes.
Good luck,
cathangirl

andreadon

• My Diary
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2009, 23:01 »
we have straw in the nest box and newspaper under the perches.
It's easier to clean out - you just whip away the old newspaper in the morning and throw it in the compost, then put new paper down.

most hybrids should have 4 and a half ounces of layers' mash or pellets per hen per day(it's a personal preference as to which - most people think pellets are less messy)