What do you do with your spares?

• 25 Replies

Elcie

What do you do with your spares?
« on: April 05, 2009, 19:05 »
This is my first year of growing plants from seed and I have quickly realised that I have grown too many for my own use.  For example I have 45 moneymaker plants growing and 45 cherry tomato plants growing!  That doesn't count the three trays of other varieties ready for pricking out of the four other tomato varieties I would like to sow this year.

So, what do you do with the leftover plants that you cannot grow to maturity yourself?

peapod

• Pea Goddess
Re: What do you do with your spares?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2009, 19:09 »
I give them away or do swapsies with my plot neighbours, I just got some lovely garlic from one of the committee and have offered my sprouts if his dont buck their act up soon. Im also careful this year not to get carried away  :D :D
"I think the carrot infinitely more fascinating than the geranium. The carrot has mystery. Flowers are essentially tarts. Prostitutes for the bees. There is, you'll agree, a certain je ne sais quoi oh so very special about a firm young carrot" Withnail and I

JulesJ

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2009, 19:11 »
I'm in the same position - am planning on giving them away to family, friends, colleagues, neighbours. If push comes to shove, I'll put them on our front wall with a sign saying 'Help yourself' or see if a charity shop wants them to sell on. Can't be bothered to do a carboot sale. Can't bring myself to bin them if they get that big, but I haven't pricked out every seedling that came up, just the strong ones, and I'm still overrun. I had no idea my stuff would germinate so well, as it's the first time I've grown anything from seed indoors. Next year I'll grow far fewer of everything!

Kristen

• K's Garden blog
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2009, 19:34 »