Alternative to crocks in growing containers

• 14 Replies

des

Alternative to crocks in growing containers
« on: April 02, 2009, 22:22 »
Hi folks, quick question;

anyone tried using something like felt or old fashioned underlay to line the bottom of growing containers?

Thera are 2 reasons why I ask;

1 - I have dozens of 20 litre containers and I do not relish the idea of messing about with such a large amount of crocks (I don't have any anyway) and having to sort them all out again when emptying containers (spuds).

2 - putting an inch or two of crocks in means that much less growing medium in effect making the container smaller which is a concern for spuds.

I have tried filling some tubs using a small patch of heavy felt like cloth to cover the drainage holes and watered it copiously, it seems to drain ok.

Anyone tried this, or heard about this being done.

(I'm a novice BTW)

peapod

• Pea Goddess
Re: Alternative to crocks in growing containers
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2009, 22:25 »
It does sound a good idea in theory,but Id check what chemicals may be hanging around (especially in underlay)
"I think the carrot infinitely more fascinating than the geranium. The carrot has mystery. Flowers are essentially tarts. Prostitutes for the bees. There is, you'll agree, a certain je ne sais quoi oh so very special about a firm young carrot" Withnail and I

Trillium

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2009, 22:28 »
The crocks in pot bottoms is a traditional way of 'doing things'. I myself have no clay pots so I have no broken ones to add to other pots. The idea is simply to keep the drainage area open, so yes, pieces of weed barrier or loose woven burlap (not underlay) over the drainage hole will work just fine, as will some scrunched up polythene or whatever else will keep the soil in and let the water out.

peapod

• Pea Goddess
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2009, 22:32 »