Slug Bait

• 20 Replies

Trebor

• Experienced Member
Slug Bait
« on: March 30, 2009, 17:20 »
Just reading the posts about organic/ non-organic and it seems enemy number one is slugs.

I am in my first year and have seen slugs on the broad beans and even garlic already. I so far have been organic (pretty easy when you haven’t done anything but clear the ground and stick a few seeds/ sets in) and intend to stay this way. Not keen on slug pellets. I can see it is easy to find the slugs wandering about on a wet day and pick them off. I also know that they hide under the carpet at the back of the allotment – which will soon be going. I have a theory that most of the slugs are hiding/ laying eggs or whatever else they do in my grass paths and so I will never get rid of them by the wet day foraging alone. So my plan is to try putting a few bits of the carpet out around the allotment, maybe even bait the carpet by some particularly tasty morsel underneath and then periodically go around lifting the carpet to squish them. My real questions are has anybody tried this, does it work and what would you say is the best slug bait? (I will not accept slug pellets as being the best!)

Long term I want to go the pond and frog route, but that isn’t going to happen this year.

peterjf

Re: Slug Bait
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2009, 17:27 »
about 2 inches of budget bitter in a jam jar ,

sink the jar into the soil

leave raised above the soil adout 1/2 an inch,

what a way to go , hic hic ,

pushrod

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2009, 20:01 »
Robert, why not just put the slug pellets under the carpets so there is no chance of hedgehogs or birds eating the poisoned slugs . (mind it's very uncertain if either actually eat poisoned slugs)
All these moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain.

Jay Dubya

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2009, 20:07 »
hi, i've tried those organic pellets and the're useless.

Faz

• Experienced Member
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2009, 20:43 »