How to start growing veg

• 10 Replies

Ch4rli3

How to start growing veg
« on: February 24, 2009, 16:54 »
Hi everyone,

So this is my first year with an allotment and I cant wait to get started.  I have made a list of what I want to grow and produced a plan so that I know everything will fit in.

One question I do have is that I have been reading a number of threads saying a lot of veg is started in greenhouses or consrvatories before planting out under cloches.  

Is this really necessary or can I sow directly into the ground a little later into the spring.  I am curently living in a small apartment so dont have the luxury of many window sills to start my veg on and thus being the main reason in getting an allotment.

Also as this is my first year I didnt really want to spend a lot of money on bits and pieces I dont really need.  So far I have bought all new tools and a shed so any advice to keep further costs down would be appreciated.

thanks in advance for any advice

Goosegirl

Re: How to start growing veg
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2009, 17:24 »
There are quite a lot of veg than can be sown straight into the ground when the soil warms up. They include beans, peas, leeks, cabbage family, carrots, onions (sets are best for a newbie, beetroot, carrots, parsley, lettuce, parsnips. Have a look on the seed packets and see what they say. It might be a good idea to make a small dedicated seedbed from which you can transplant things like leeks. Hopefully, that will leave you enough room to chit potatoes and start off toms and sweetcorn on your windowsills.   :)
I work very hard so don't expect me to think as well.

GreenOwl

« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2009, 17:33 »
Hi Ch4tli3,