planting in beds after blight

• 6 Replies

little sweetpeas

• Experienced Member
planting in beds after blight
« on: February 23, 2009, 13:27 »
Last year i got blight in the polytunnel as well as outside, I cleared the tunnel at the end of last summer and left the tunnel empty. I've just topped up the beds with another 4 inches of very, very rotted manure and mushroom compost.

So my questions are

1. Am I ok to plant tomatos into the beds, making watering easier, or should I plant in pots or growbags

2. I wanted to plant some spuds in there now, would that be asking for trouble. They have been chitting fo almost 4 weeks now so are ready to go in now.

« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 13:48 by little sweetpeas »
Try my best to be Organic but don't always make it

Trillium

Re: planting in beds after blight
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2009, 16:04 »
I'm not a blight expert as we don't get it here, but from reading a lot of experiences by others, blight spores will live in the soil for a long time as well as cling to structures as its a wind-born spore. I'd recommend the grow bags for the toms and a watchful eye. Same with the spuds, or even do a barrel with bagged compost. Purchased compost is usually 'cooked' at a high temperature which should kill off blight spores and make growing a bit safer. But even using these techniques, the spores can still blow in on the wind so you'll need to check regularly for the first signs.

little sweetpeas

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2009, 17:34 »