off colour chicken

• 14 Replies

geri

off colour chicken
« on: January 10, 2009, 16:49 »
Hi, I am new to chicken keeping only having had four since mid Nov, bought as point of lay, all was going well until today. One of them spent the morning looking very sorry for herself, puffed up and hunched over. She wasn't interested in food or water. As it is so cold I brought her inside where she spent afew hours in a straw filled box next in the radiator. She didn't try to get out of the box but had plenty to drink and looked a lot happier. This afternoon I put her out with the other where she had some corn and pecked about. However after about 10 mins or so she was back to standing still puffed up. She has now gone into the hen house with the others. Can anyone suggest what may be wrong and what I should be doing? Would it be better if she slept inside tonight to keep warm or am I worrying unnecessarily

Vember

off colour chicken
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2009, 17:06 »
Hi Geri

Welcome to the Hen House :D

Could she be trying to pass an egg?
Has she laid recently that you know of?

Sometimes when a hen lays a soft shelled egg they become quite withdrawn as you describe. Once the egg is out they seem to pick straight back up again :)

Have you given her a good look over especially round her rear? Have a gentle feel from under her vent down towards her legs - be very careful if there is an egg she's having trouble with you should be able to feel it :)

Sarah :D

geri

off colour chicken
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2009, 17:26 »
None of them have started laying yet so this could be the problem. If I feel anything what should I do?

Vember

off colour chicken
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2009, 17:49 »
If she is egg bound try this:

Sit her in a tub of warm soapy water