what chillis to grow?

• 20 Replies

Snap Dragon

• I want chickens... and ducks!
    • http://thedragonsden1.blogspot.com/
what chillis to grow?
« on: November 30, 2008, 01:01 »
Hubby and I want to try growing some peppers this year.....    we have tried lots of sweet chilli recipes but is this a particular variety or just the way it's treated after harvesting?

Any recommendations on types to grow? Are they mainly a greenhouse crop? We have never grow them before so are complete novices!!!!

Any advice welcome  :D
Snappy 

No amount of time can erase the memory of a good cat, and no amount of masking tape can ever totally remove his fur from your couch.

I could give up chocolate but I'm not a quitter.

compostqueen

what chillis to grow?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2008, 08:40 »
do you mean sweet peppers or chillies?

Snap Dragon

• I want chickens... and ducks!
    • http://thedragonsden1.blogspot.com/
what chillis to grow?
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2008, 18:54 »
Ooooops...... yes I meant chillis.  :oops:

(I'm blaming the copious amount of vino consumed last night!!!!)  :drunken:

Thanks CQ... I've edited the title now!!!

Kate and her Ducks

what chillis to grow?
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2008, 19:00 »
Be interested to know what people think too as would like to have a go next year, particularly if I get a greenhouse.
Be like a duck. Calm on the surface but always paddling like the dickens underneath.

FCG

what chillis to grow?
« Reply #4 on: November 30, 2008, 19:01 »
Lemon drop is a good one i hear. Nice citrus tang to them, even through they are a little hard to grow. Try ordering the real seed catalogue, they have some really good ones you can save the seed from. I'll try to find the link for you.

Chiswickian

• Experienced Member
what chillis to grow?
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2008, 19:57 »