new to this, help/advice, prolapse I think

• 35 Replies

naughty nick

• Wilbarston Allotments
« on: November 29, 2008, 12:15 »
hello people, one of my rhode islands has a very messy rear end this morning and I have had a look at her with out picking her up as she is not one of the tame ones yet, but it seems there is something not quite right there :( , I'm a bit nervous to try and push anything back inside in case I do something wrong as I have never done this before  :oops: ,  any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks :(

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2008, 12:29 »
A pic would be a great help Nick, but keep her separate from the rest for now, if it is a prolapse then they will peck at it  :roll:
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

Kate and her Ducks

« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2008, 12:33 »
Think you are really going to have to pick her up znd have a good look at her and as Rich said if you can post a pic that would be helpful.

There is some info here although I confess I haven't read it through, it may help.

http://www.chat.allotment-garden.org/viewtopic.php?t=9858
Be like a duck. Calm on the surface but always paddling like the dickens underneath.

agapanthus

« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2008, 12:47 »
If it is a prolapse...gently push it back in with your fingers and wash her bottom. As was said...isolate her somewhere snug and warm.Other hens could actually eat her alive if left with them!!! :x  :x  It will do her a lot more good to put it back then to leave it...I promise you!!! She will probably need a shot of anti-inflammatory from the vet. Good luck.  :D

naughty nick

• Wilbarston Allotments
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2008, 13:13 »
I think Ive done this right              well it should be a picture, Hopefully :?

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2008, 13:26 »