More sick chickens... sneezing and a very mucky gammy eye...

• 15 Replies

Sarah Mitchell

• Experienced Member
Hello all... it's my first time and I'd love some advice from all my fellow chickenistas!

I have a young bearded poland who has a cold and has developed a mucky eye.  I'm treating the cold (usual stuff - in the warm, dog food, aspirin in the water, bird cold remedy etc) but I am worried about one of her eyes which has closed up, is very swollen and weepy... is it the cold or is it something in her eye.  Does anyone have any ideas, suggestions, similar experience please????  All advice gratefully received.

Oh and this would be the chicken I'm looking after for a friend and not one of my own!!

:-)
Mad chicken woman

Foxy

« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2008, 22:42 »
Sounds like a respiratory infection which will need antibiotics from the  vet. Could be a simple mycoplasma with complications -so usually a vet will prescribe either Tylan or Baytril for them.

poultrygeist

« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2008, 22:46 »
Hi Sarah. Welcome  :)

Doesn't sound like a happy time. Can't argue with Foxy (cos she knows a lot more than me :wink: ).

I would get her to a vets.

Rob 8)

Foxy

« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2008, 23:04 »
sorry Sarah!!

How rude of me, welcome to the henhouse! :oops:  :lol:  :lol:

kimT

• http://www.thepoultrygarden.com
« Reply #4 on: November 11, 2008, 23:09 »
Welcome to the forum.

I would say you need Tylan from your vet just as Foxy has said.

Hope she recovers very soon.

3frenchhens

« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2008, 11:13 »
Hello everybody, I have just joined this site so hope nobody minds me starting off by putting my oar in.  Just thought my experience might help.